Mystery Writer Revealed

Alicia Jessop

Legend has it, that when I was an infant, I entertained members of my family by systematically raising my hands in a goal post formation whenever John Elway scored a touchdown for the Denver Broncos.

For as long as I can remember, sports and being a sports fan have played intricate roles in my life.

Born and raised in Denver, Colorado, I remember the day in third grade, when my Mom picked me up from school early so I could watch Colorado’s first Major League Baseball team play its first game live.  I remember jumping around crazily and sharing high-fives with my Dad when Eric Young hit the first home run in Colorado Rockies history.

When I was in seventh grade, the Denver Broncos finally became Super Bowl champions, defeating the Green Bay Packers in Super Bowl XXXII.  Not only did the Super Bowl victory finally give Broncos fans a championship winning football team, it gave me bragging rights in my classroom at Everitt Middle School.  The weekend the Broncos won the Super Bowl, I was also named the winner of the Rocky Mountain News’ Denver Broncos Hat Design Contest.  My picture was subsequently featured alongside my crafty hat in a full-page spread in the paper’s Spotlight section.

As an adult, sports have naturally remained a focal point of my life.

I completed my undergraduate studies at the Colorado School of Mines, from which I received a Bachelor of Science degree in Economics.  While there, I was a member and captain of the cheerleading squad.  The weekends I spent on the sideline and on the basketball court supporting my collegiate team are some of my most treasured memories.

In 2006, I left Colorado to begin law school in California.  I attended Chapman University School of Law in Orange, California.  I chose Chapman for its proximity to Los Angeles and ties to the entertainment industry.  While there, I completed a certificate program in Entertainment Law and interned at the Screen Actors Guild and Warner Brother’s music publishing company, Warner/Chappell Music before graduating cum laude.

In 2009, I graduated from law school.  That summer I sat for the California bar examination, which I passed.  I am also licensed to practice law in Colorado.

Since law school, I’ve represented corporations in contractual and labor issues.  Currently, I work for a law firm Orange County and represent large-scale banking institutions in contractual disputes.  I’ve also advised professional athletes and collegiate coaches in contractual matters and in forming nonprofit organizations.

Through establishing my website, RulingSports.com, I got to know Kristi and BusinessofCollegeSports.com.

A month ago, Kristi invited me to become a main contributor to BusinessofCollegeSports.com.  I am thrilled to have been given this opportunity and feel that you will find many similarities (and what appears to be only one difference) between myself and Kristi:

KRISTI

ALICIA

Lawyer Lawyer
Favorite law school professor:  Matthew Parlow Favorite law school professor:  Matthew Parlow
Former college cheerleader Former college cheerleader
Sorority member Sorority member
Chadd Scott Still searching for her Chadd Scott

In my becoming a main contributor of BusinessofCollegeSports.com, it is my and Kristi’s goal to continue giving you the things you look forward to when visiting BusinessofCollegeSports.com:

  • Interesting content
  • Accurate information
  • Reasoned insight
  • Fresh opinions
  • Insightful explanations

Another factor which has made BusinessofCollegeSports.com successful is Kristi’s accessibility to readers.  I look forward to engaging with you on Twitter.  You can find me at my personal account @RulingSports and at the new official BusinessofCollegeSports.com account @BizCollegeSport.   I can also be reached via email at RulingSports@gmail.com.

While Kristi has the SEC on lockdown, I look forward to meeting readers from the Pac-12 at upcoming games!  Be sure to send me your tailgate information!

I’m thankful to Kristi for this opportunity.  I hope that you’ll stay tuned, follow me and continue to discover what the business of college sports is all about!

Follow Alicia on Twitter @RulingSports and @BizCollegeSport 

Alicia’s writing on professional sports can be found at http://www.RulingSports.com

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My hat didn’t win the contest! LOL. I forgot that we did that.

  1. Pingback: BusinessofCollegeSports.com | RULING SPORTS

Leave a comment